Because it sounds a bit like She Ra

Still I have many posts in my head and still I’m not writing them, I think it’s because I’ve been procrastinating over this one.

Something a bit different today, as one of my goals for this year was to expand the blog into more than just pictures of my hands.

On 5th & 6th January the CITV channel celebrated the 30th anniversary of Childrens ITV programming by showing vintage kids TV from the 80s and 90s all weekend. I took this opportunity to grab some photographs of vintage channel logos from the old ITV channels. These are deliberately not the greatest photographs and I chose to do this rather than record everything, partly because I didn’t think of it and partly because the novelty for me was seeing them displayed on my modern telly screen.

This was one of my favourite weekends in a long time and needless to say I didn’t move far from the sofa, so here for posterity are some of the pictures I took.

Unfortunately when I thought of taking pictures I assumed I could sit on the sofa and zoom in, but I soon found out that I lost a lot of picture quality, so this first Tyne Tees logo is a bit blurry. For the rest I got off my arse and stood in front of the telly.

20130114-224724.jpg

Next we’ve got a couple of Thames logos. I usually hesitate to use the word iconic, but I definitely think it applies here. I’d love to see an update of this with the some more of the highlights of the current London skyline, although how they’d account for the fact that The Shard and the London Eye are south of the river I’m not sure…

20130114-224747.jpg

20130114-224758.jpg

Here’s my home station and this first logo is probably the one I saw more than any other, while most of the country probably only saw it after Emmerdale, I will always have a special fondness for the classic Yorkshire Television logo. The second one is a bit newer and so only captures a fraction of the nostalgia, but still…

20130114-224809.jpg

20130114-224818.jpg

This one’s a bit of a bonus, I don’t remember Cosgrove Hall productions having their own logo, and really it isn’t a classic of the genre, but as they’re based in Chorlton, another place I lived for a while, seeing this makes me happy.

20130114-224846.jpg

A relatively recent STV logo. Never liked this one, I always thought the blocky thistle just looked a bit silly.

20130114-224900.jpg

And we’ll finish with another classic, I’ve never known what this one was all about, but this Central ‘cake’ logo is pretty awesome.

20130114-224928.jpg

Sadly I didn’t capture a decent Granada logo which was the one I wanted, but I’m pleased with my haul nonetheless.

And yes I did watch the programmes as well, I just don’t have a blog post about them in me!

Let me know what you think

